Track 24 – Control Myself (Shane Kaufman Remix)

To celebrate our anniversary (Rachel and I were married not once, not twice but three times. She’s my charm!), I thought I would mix things up a little. On our fifth anniversary I surprised my bride with a rap song. I changed the words to Control Myself, by Jennifer Lopez and LL Cool J and performed it for her using Siaya’s microphone. The performance was an act of love and an attempt to prove to her that maybe I did have it in me to be the next American Idol. She was touched by the former and unconvinced in the latter.

I couldn’t find a complete set of lyrics and so I had to rewrite some of them. Change is sometimes good. We’ll see how it goes with this.

This year, as an anniversary present to Rachel I filmed myself rapping to the song and uploaded it onto youtube. So you have the choice; scroll to the bottom and click on LL Cool J or take a chance on a love struck fool!

Control Myself 

Eleven years already,

Our path it started steady,

You said yes sir; I’m ready to go,

And then you went and led me,

 

Your mom was somewhat leery,

Her heart a little weary,

A foreign man, in a foreign land,

It was looking pretty dreary.

 

And then she saw right to me.

She saw I loved you truly.

My heart was true and I guess she knew,

Our love shone like a moonbeam.

 

My one and only lover,

I’m always gonna love ya,

Wanna get ya under the cover,

You make my heart just flutta,

 

She said

(You got, You got, You got

What it takes to make me stay with you!)

It’s hard to control myself! It’s hard to control myself.

You got, You got, You got

What it takes to make me stay with you!

I just control myself. I just can’t control myself.

 

You are my one and only,

With you I’m never lonely,

We’re real and never phony,

One look at you, I’m ho’ny!

 

Together we are passion,

Dancing and relaxing,

You keep us both in fashion,

You’re naughty and your sassy!

 

My wife, you see right through me,

Best friend, you see the true me,

It’s like you always knew me,

You love me, deeply, truly!

 

You know I know you love me,

Wanna kiss me, touch me hug me,

And the same is true,

Wanna get with you,

Gonna touch you, you can touch me.

 

She said

(You got, You got, You got

What it takes to make me stay with you!)

It’s hard to control myself. It’s hard to control myself.

You got, You got, You got,

What it takes to make me stay with you!

I just control myself. I just can’t control myself.

 

You have fun! Got great buns! You’re my one,

In an out! Back to front! Up and down!

You touched my heart,

You turn me on.

 

We’re all about desire,

No time can douse our fire,

This mutual inferno,

Destiny, You and me – yo!

Marriage seems so simple,

With someone who’s so pure – yo,

Gonna feel like this,

When I’m ninety-six

Don’t stop, our love’s eternal!

 

She said

(You got, You got, You got

What it takes to make me stay with you!)

It’s hard to control myself. It’s hard to control myself.

You got, You got, You got,

What it takes to make me stay with you!

I just control myself. I just can’t control myself.

 

Rr Rr Rr Rr Rr Rr  ….

 

Yea, I need Rachel to report to the dance floor. Right. Now.

Happy anniversary, my love! Forever and 72!

Control Myself (Shane Kaufman Remix) youtube link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIKtwX4DQIE

Control Myself

youtube link

Leave a Reply

