Track 6 – Intergalactic

As my wife gets older, she spends more time looking in the mirror inspecting the lines that have started to crease her complexion. It is not uncommon to hear her say, “I look old!” Of course I disagree and tell her that she looks more beautiful now than she did on the day we first met. Nevertheless, despite the sincerity embedded in my words, my replies are always greeted with skepticism and disbelief.

You see, to me, the lines on a person’s face are like the blurb on the dust cover of a novel. The same as a novel, you have to open a person up to find out the details; however, the wrinkles, and lines can give you a good indication of what that person is all about. Personally, I love my wife’s laugh lines and crow’s feet. They show me that she has lived and continues to live her life with a smile on her face and a laughter in her belly that is always on the verge of escaping. She lives life as it should be, with sunshine in her soul.

I am severely affected by a true smile whether it is directed at me or at someone else. It makes me feel good just to be in the vicinity of such happiness. Likewise, laughter that comes from the core is one of the most gloriously infectious things in the world. I have had some of my best ab-workouts by just laughing along with someone else. More often that not, I wasn’t tickled by the initial joke or comment. But the full bodied laughter that seemed to emanate from the deepest regions of their being left me wiping my eyes and gasping for air.

Intergalactic, by the Beastie Boys, is a song that I used to play at Nepal for a good friend who had one of those laughs and one of those smiles. She recently wrote me a message that made me grin and inspired me to write this.

“Every time you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.”        – Mother Teresa

Intergalactic youtube link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qORYO0atB6g

Leave a Reply

